Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

18 Lawrence Street
York, YO10 3BP
United Kingdom

York Cycleworks is an independent bike shop that has been at the heart of York cycling scene for over 30 years. We pride ourselves on our expertise and great customer service. 

2016 Elite Road Race


All the fun things from the world of York Cycleworks and cycling in our blog!

2016 Elite Road Race

Joe Richardson

Reasons to be Brandsby Part 1

Our Brandsby circuit has something of a reputation, one not too dissimilar to that of a great white shark, it'll grab you by the legs and then attempt to rip them from your body. Naturally we LOVE it as it always gives a great days racing, creates breaks and gaps as well as constantly keeping riders on the limit.

This year wasn't any different with a break forming on Milking Hill, the 1.1km 17% gradient hill that always shakes things up. This years race wasn't any different with breaks and gaps forming and being caught again on every lap.

The Shy and Retiring Kind

With a full start list of 80 riders from teams such as JLT Condor, NFTO, Raleigh GAC, London Dynamo, Pedale Heaven and local hitters Feather Cycles we knew that we would be in for another vintage year. The first lap saw the first retirees of the races with a rider from NFTO biting the dust as a victim of Milking Hill. He wasn't alone as the field quickly became reduced over the next few laps as a fast and furious pace was set by the likes of Harry Tanfield of Pedal Heaven and Grant Martin of Feather Cycling. A small group was further reduced to just three riders on the final lap, Tom Neale and Adam Kenway of Metaltek-Kuota Racing Team and Pedal Heaven's Harry Tanfield who contested the sprint with Neal taking the win from Tanfield in second and Kenway in Third

1. Tom Neale- Metaltek- Kuota RT

2. Harry Tanfield- Pedal Heaven 

3.Adam Kenway- Metal Kuota RT

4. Joseph Clark- Envelope Master Giant Sheffield

5. Alex Dalton- Wold Top Active RT

6. Jake Tanner- Envelope Master Giant Sheffield

7. Chris Sleath- Adept Precision RT

8. Peter Barusevicus- Wheelbase Altura

9. Charlie Passfield- Cycle Club Ashfield (CCA)

10. Barnabas Purbrook- London Dynamo